New Windsor Government

New Windsor Quarry Project Status


Fan New Windsor on Facebook!Follow New Windsor on Twitter!

Pay Water Bill

The Town of New Windsor
211 High Street, P.O. Box 609
New Windsor, MD 21776

TEL: (410) 635-6575
FAX (410) 635-2995

Site Map


The New Windsor
Town Hall is located
at 211 High Street
in the Village Center

Office Hours:
9:00-3:00 M-F

P: 410-635-6575
F: 410-635-2995

New Windsor, Maryland Fire Hall


Term of Office Phone
Neal Roop 05/2013 - 05/2017 410-635-6575

Front Office

Role Phone
Donna Alban Clerk/Treasurer 410-635-6575
Frank Schaeffer Town Manager 410-635-6575
Kalena Bartoszak Sec/Recp 410-635-6575

Town Council

Term of Office Phone
Dave Hoffman 05/2015 - 05/2019 410-635-6575
Ed Palsgrove 05/2013 - 05/2017 410-596-0862
Edward Smith 05/2013 - 05/2017 410-635-6575
Kimberlee C Schultz 05/2015 - 05/2019 443-340-8056
Sandra Custen 04/2016 - 05/2019 410-635-6575

Planning Commission

Term of Office Phone
Bill Schneeman 04/2014 - 07/2018 410-635-6560
Dave Hoffman not listed
Drew Strine 04/2016 - 03/2021 410-635-6575
Dwight Ricker 05/2016 - 04/2021 not listed
Glenn Monroe 04/2014 - 03/2019 443-463-2207
Mark Schultz 11/2014 - 10/2019 410-635-8960
Robert Dixon 04/2012 - 03/2017 410 635-6575

Public Works

Term of Office Phone
Dave Valentine 410-635-6575
Jack Coe 410-635-6575
Larry Bennett 410-635-6575
Wayne Myers 410-635-6575

Zoning Administrator

Term of Office Phone
Dale Gray Appointed 410-635-6575

Board of Zoning Appeals

Term of Office Phone
Charlotte Hollenbeck 06/2016 - 06/2019 410-635-6575
Dale Lowman 06/2016 - 06/2019 not listed
K. Marcell Munshaur 06/2016 - 06/2019 not listed

Town Governance

The Mayor holds a four-year term of office and serves as the chief executive officer and the head of the administrative branch of the town government. The Mayor also serves as president of the Town Council. Although the Mayor does not vote, he or she does hold veto power. The Mayor appoints the heads of all offices and departments, who serve at the Mayor's pleasure.

The Town Manager is hired to service the Mayor, Council and the community and to bring benefits in administering local government projects and programs on behalf of the governing body. The Town Manager is also responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Town, including but not limited to seeing that all ordinances, resolutions, rules and regulations adopted by the Town are faithfully executed.

The Town Clerk/Treasurer is responsible for the overall collection and disbursement of funds including maintaining all the financial and public records.  The Clerk maintains the minutes of the Town Council as well as the various Boards and Commissions.  The Clerk is responsible for providing and keeping up-to-date information regarding voter registration, elections, polling places and meeting schedules.  As Treasurer, he/she is responsible for generating the Town's water and sewer billing and recording payments.  The Clerk/Treasurer shall be appointed by the Mayor with approval by the Council.

The Public Works Department operates equipment and performs various maintenance duties to maintain Town roads, storm drains, utilities and parks. In addition, they perform snow removal duties and respond to various emergencies. The Public Works department currently has 2 full time and 1 part time employees.

The duty of Zoning Administrator is to process all zoning applications in accordance with town zoning codes.

All legislative powers of the town are vested in the Town Council consisting of five elected members. Council members four-year terms of office are staggered as not to have each member being up for election simultaneously. The Town Council meets regularly the first Wednesday of every month in the "Community Meeting Room" of the recently renovated Carroll County Library Administration Headquarters at 1100 Green Valley Road in New Windsor. The Council has the power to hold public hearings and adopt new ordinances.

The Town Planning Commission is a seven-member commission created with powers and duties as set out in Article 66B, Zoning and Planning, of the Annotated Code of Maryland. Commission members are appointed by the Mayor and Council for terms of five years each, one member is a council member to serve in an ex officio capacity. The Commission meets on the fourth Monday of every month in the "Community Meeting Room" of the recently renovated Carroll County Library Administration Headquarters at 1100 Green Valley Road in New Windsor.

The Board of Zoning Appeals consist of three members appointed by the mayor for terms of three years each.In general the Board hears and decides on issues pertaining to special exceptions, and variances. The powers of the Board are defined in the Code of the Town of New Windsor.